OUR first wedding of 2015!

Today marks the beginning of wedding season for me here at the studio and after such an incredible 2014 with some of the most amazing couples I‘ve ever had the pleasure of working with, I can’t wait to see what 2015 has in store for us. I know I’ve shared a lot of great pictures and stories about my couples here on the blog and on Facebook but there’s one more wedding I really have been so excited to share with you all…. MINE! Yes, that’s right… this wedding photographer got married and to the great Love of her Life!

Surprised???!!!!…. So was our entire family! Here’s our story.

This March 14, 2015 marked our 10 year anniversary of being together. Last year we had planned on actually getting married on this day and after buying a house, working on the house, building a business and rescuing and adopting a puppy the wedding plans sadly were put on hold for the time being. So fast forward a year to the week of our big 10 year anniversary and I start to plan a little surprise get away trip for us. My honey loves to go antiquing, getting his hands dirty and finding cool treasures in the most unlikely of places, so I started to plan a ‘romantic’ salvage hunting, antique finding, flea marketing weekend getaway. Sounds awesome right? Wrong! Problem was, it was March, and nothing awesome and outdoors is open in March., especially this past March… Oy vey! So, here I was searching and searching and don’t get me wrong, I found a few pretty cool places to go, but nothing gave me that ‘wow’ ‘yes that’s it’ feeling and I began to stress myself out big time! I started to think, this is not really what I want, and so Wednesday night I gave in to the surprise aspect of my planning and filled Jon in on all of my great ideas. He agreed and thought it was awesome, but still something was missing. A weekend away wasn’t really what we both wanted, but didn‘t know exactly what is was that we did want.

Jon and I had been engaged for about 3+ years and so many mornings we would wake up, snuggle, give each other a hug and kiss and say to one another, ‘honey, I love you, let’s get married today’ and we would always laugh and say ‘I Do’ all snuggled up warm under the sheets and dream about running off Block Island and getting married overlooking the ocean, just the two of us. What always stopped us though was knowing how much our families loved us and how sad they would be that they couldn’t be there to witness and celebrate in the joining of our lives together, especially after being together for so long. So on Thursday morning before our anniversary on that Saturday, we woke up with the alarm, snuggled into each other and said as usual, ‘honey, I love you, let’s get married’ and this time, with our eyes open wide, something felt a little different about saying this usual saying to one another. Almost as if a switch had gone off in both of our hearts that said, Yes, let’s do it, let‘s get married. All of a sudden our wedding dreams became a real conversation, “maybe we could, maybe we should, but I don’t want to go to city hall, I want my mom there, what about my sisters, but our anniversary is 2 days away…” The conversation continued and before I realized how much this crazy idea actually made sense Jon say’s to me, “Babe, I can’t wait any longer to be your husband and if anyone can pull off a wedding in 2 days, it’s you, I’m all in, so let’s go babe, work your magic and make it happen!” ‘Really”, I said. “Really” he said with a huge smile followed by the best kiss of my life!

If you know me well or have worked with me at a wedding, you know I thrive under pressure. This is an important reason why I’m so good at being a wedding photographer, the more stressful a situation, the more pressure being put on me to be the leader, the better I do, and I thank God everyday for giving me this special gift. So with the green light from Jon and both of our Mom’s by Friday night, we had our marriage certificate, met with our Pastor, called all of our family, ordered the food, got the unity candles, cleaned the house and I made and printed all of the programs for the ceremony. On Saturday my amazing cousin came early to do the flowers and helped with all of the last minute details. I went to get my hair done, my great friend Lindsey from Like flutter for lashes came to do my makeup, Jon got out of work at 5, Garrett my amazing associate Photographer was here at 6 and all the guest arrived at 7! By 7:15 the live acoustic harmonies of Miss Diane and MaryAnn started and at 7:30 I walked down the isle in our living room with rose pedals scattered on the carpet and my dad by my side, surrounded by our immediate family and closest friends! There were so many people that are so close to our hearts that I wish could have been there with us and trust me if we could have fit 150+ in our living room you better believe you would have gotten a phone call. One day maybe, we’ll have a big wedding and dance all night long, cut the cake and throw the bouquet, but for now all we really wanted was our marriage. We are so thankful for all the love, support and congratulations that we’ve received since 3-14-15 and are so happy now to share with the world a little piece of ours.

All of our Love, Karie + Jon

Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (1) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (2) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (5) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (3) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (7) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (6) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (8) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (9) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (10) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (11) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (12) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (13) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (14) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (15) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (16) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (18) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (17) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (33) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (19) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (34) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (20) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (26) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (23) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (28) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (35) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (36) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (39) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (37) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (38) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (41) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (30) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (31) Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (29)

Huge Thanks to my amazing friend and associate Shooter Garrett who dropped everything in a moments notice to not only be by our side, but to capture the entire moment! We are so thankful for you!

Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (27)

And yes… Our anniversary is 3.14.15 the ultimate Pi day!

We had to get dressed up again the next day and go take a selfie by Pi sign!

Karie Peterson Photography_ Our Wedding 031415 (43)

And while we were out we stopped by for a picture with all 3 little cousins!

Thanks to everyone who was part of our special day! We love you all and are truly thankful to have each and everyone of you in our lives! All our Love! K+J!

One thought on “OUR first wedding of 2015!

Leave a Reply

